View a version of this page
Send this to a friend via Email

For Immediate Release

Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliothèques   Announces 2008 Young Adult Book Award Winner and Honour Book

(Ottawa, April 21, 2008) - The Young Adult Services Interest Group of the Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliothèques is pleased to announce the 2008 Young Adult Canadian Book Award winner and Honour Books for books published in 2007.

Mistik Lake by Martha Brooks, published by Groundwood Books, is the winner.  The Space Between by Don Aker, published by HarperCollins, and Eye of the Crow by Shane Peacock, published by Tundra Books, are Honour Books.

In Martha Brooks’ Mistik Lake, family secrets are explored in an intergenerational narrative.  When Odella’s mother leaves for another man, Odella must confront her mother’s past and cope with the impact it has on the way she sees the world.  In this haunting and introspective story, Brooks creates a thoughtful character that will emotionally resonate with her readers.

In The Space Between, Don Aker takes a funny premise – a young man trying to lose his virginity - and uses it to explore friendship, love, guilt and loss.  Using an exceptional narrative voice, Aker’s main character reflects on mistakes he and others have made, and grieves the loss of an important person in his life.

In Eye of the Crow, Shane Peacock creates a gritty, vivid world, as a young Sherlock Holmes survives the violent streets of 1860’s London in events that will haunt him for the rest of his life.  This story will captivate audiences both young and old.

A complete list of the 2008 finalists, as well as information on past winners, is available on the CLA web site,  

The Young Adult Book Award was established by the Young Adult Caucus of the Saskatchewan Library Association in 1980 and was subsequently transferred to the Young Adult Services Interest Group (YASIG) of the CLA/ACB. The award recognizes an author of an outstanding Canadian English-language work of fiction (novel or collection of short stories) that appeals to young adults between the ages of 13 and 18. Previous winners include William Bell, Shyam Selvadurai, Miriam Toews, and Polly Horvath.

The award will be presented at this year’s Book Awards reception, on May 22, 2008, in Vancouver, British Columbia, during the CLA/ACB 2008 National Conference & Trade Show.

The Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliothèques  is Canada’s largest national and broad-based library association, representing the interests of public, academic, school and special libraries, professional librarians and library workers, and all those concerned about enhancing the quality of life of Canadians through information and literacy.  

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the 2008 CLA/ACB Young Adult Book Award Committee:

Jessica Cammer, Regina Public Library
Thomas Long, Vancouver Public Library
Elsa Ngan, Toronto Public Library
Lisa Doucet, Halifax, N.S.
Carol Rigby, Iqaluit, Nunavut

-- 30 --

Media Contact:  Jessica Cammer, 306-777-6041

If you have any technical difficulties with please contact the CLA Webmaster at .
© 1999 - 2014 Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliothèques