View a version of this page
Send this to a friend via Email

For Immediate Release

2008 Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship Awarded to TAL CEO

(Ottawa, May 2, 2008) - The Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliotheques is very pleased to announce that this year's recipient of the Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship is Lucy Pana, Chief Executive Officer of The Alberta Library, Edmonton.  The Award, including $1,000 and a Citation of Achievement, will be presented to Lucy Pana at the CLA/ACB 2008 National Conference & Trade Show in Vancouver, BC, on May 24.

As the first CEO, Lucy has been the key advocate for Alberta libraries since The Alberta Library (TAL) was formed in 1997.  TAL now serves over 290 libraries across the Province.  Its membership includes public, university, college, technical institutes and special libraries. Recently the first First Nations post-secondary institution - Red Crow Community College - joined TAL.

Lucy's leadership is seen in her ability to lobby and negotiate with Federal, Provincial and local governments.  With their support she was able to facilitate the development and support of libraries across the Province. For example, The Alberta Public Library Electronic Network (APLEN) was formed through agreements between TAL, Alberta Community Developments, Western Economic Partnership Agreement and Industry Canada with the public library community.  APLEN has coordinated Industry Canada's Community Access Program and worked on other services such as language learning software for New Canadians. Currently APLEN is operating LIBRARY RENEWED a campaign designed to demonstrate to Albertans how libraries make an impact in the Province and why support to all libraries in the Province is necessary.

Under Lucy's direction other innovative services have been developed including TAL Online which provides Albertans with internet-based access to more than 270 library catalogues; The Alberta Library Card which allows users walk-in access to over 270 participating public, post-secondary and government libraries in the province; the VisuNet Canada Partners Program which links Albertans to the resources housed in the CNIB library; and the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library providing 35 Alberta post-secondary institutions with digital information resources for teaching, learning and research.

Lucy has travelled across the Province in support of these initiatives and has made numerous presentations to government representatives and agencies.  She has also advocated for The Alberta Library at the CLA/ACB conferences and at Provincial conferences.  TAL has received awards from the CLA/ACB Community and Technical College Libraries Section, the Premier's Award of Excellence, the Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal and Industry Canada LibraryNet 2002 Best Practices Award. 

Lucy herself was the 2001-02 recipient of the University of Alberta Library and Information Studies Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni Award.

This annual Award was established in recognition of CLA/ACB Past President Dr Ken Haycock, distinguished educator, administrator and advocate.

The Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliothèques is Canada’s largest national and broad-based library association, representing the interests of public, academic, school and special libraries, professional librarians and library workers, and all those concerned about enhancing the quality of life of Canadians through information and literacy.  

-- 30 --

Media Contact:  Norman Horrocks, School of Information Management, Dalhousie University, Email:


If you have any technical difficulties with please contact the CLA Webmaster at .
© 1999 - 2014 Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliothèques