View a version of this page
Send this to a friend via Email

Generously sponsored by:

Library Services Centre Logo

CLA Young Adult Book Award

This award recognizes an author of an outstanding English language Canadian book which appeals to young adults between the ages of 13 and 18. To be eligible for consideration, the following must apply: it must be a work of fiction (novel, collection of short stories, or graphic novel) published in 2013, the title must be a Canadian publication in either hardcover or paperback, and the author must be a Canadian citizen or Permanent Resident. The award is given annually, when merited, at the Canadian Library Association's annual conference. The winner will receive a plaque and a cheque for $ 1000. The award was established in in 1980 by the Young Adult Caucus of the Saskatchewan Library Association.

Five copies of each eligible title should be submitted to the committee. For submission and distribution information, please contact:

Kim Hebig, Chair,
Wheatland Regional Library


Deadline is December 31, annually.

Who has won the Young Adult Book Award? Check the complete list of award winners.


2013-14 Young Adult Book Award Jury

Name Location
Kim Hebig, Chair
Wheatland Regional Library
Carmelita Cechetto-Shea
Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board
Elizabeth Coates
Calgary Public Library
Allison Hall-Murphy
Ottawa Public Library
Stephanie Vollick
Okanagan Regional Library
If you have any technical difficulties with please contact the CLA Webmaster at .
© 2011 Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliothèques